Great Beginnings YA Bookclub for Adults

Event date: 
Thursday, June 8, 2017 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

Empress of a Thousand StarsWe'll be discussing Empress of a Thousand Skies byRhoda Belleza.

For fans of Pierce Brown and Firefly comes an epic sci-fi fantasy that Kiersten White, author of And I Darken, calls -dazzling--an adventure as sweeping in scope as the galaxies it spans -

Empress
Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta'an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She'll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.
Fugitive
Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he's falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation - and his life.

Madman
With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in this exhilarating debut, perfect for readers of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles and Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman's Illuminae Files.

Rhoda Belleza was raised in Los Angeles, where she grew up writing X-Files fanfiction and stuffing her face with avocados. She's a children's editor at a publishing house and writes from a sunny Brooklyn apartment stuffed with far too many bikes and far too many shoes. When she's not writing, Rhoda obsesses over nail art tutorials, watches kung fu movies, and sews together crooked things that pass for clothes. Empress of a Thousand Skies is her debut novel.


Great Beginnings YA Bookclub for adult readers is led by YA author Parker Peevyhouse.  We will meet the second Thursday of every month at 7:00 pm at Hicklebee's Bookstore to discuss our featured book. Great Beginners will receive a 20% discount on titles chosen for discussion.

Sign up here.

Parker PeeveyhouseParker Peevyhouse writes fiction about teens in unusual situations. She lives with her family in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she works at a junior/senior high school and volunteers with teens. She can usually be found wandering local trails, playing board games, or watching science fiction movies. Her first novel, WHERE FUTURES END (Penguin/Dawson, February 2016), which Kirkus called *"strange and compelling," has been featured on such websites as EntertainmentWeekly.com, Barnes and Noble Teen Blog, io9.com, and in Glitter Magazine.

Empress of a Thousand Skies Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101999103
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Razorbill - February 7th, 2017

Ages 12 +