Mad About Books - Middle Grade Book Club

Event date: 
Monday, June 19, 2017 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Mad About Books

 LemonsWe'll be discussing Lemons by Melissa Savage.

The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that's perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo's Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate's Crenshaw.

Lemonade Liberty Witt's mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can't possibly make lemonade out of her new life in Willow Creek, California--the Bigfoot Capital of the World--where she's forced to live with a grandfather she's never met after her mother passes away.

Then she meets eleven-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer, they set out on an epic adventure to capture a shot of the elusive beast on film. But along the way, Lem and Tobin end up discovering more than they ever could have imagined. And Lem realizes that maybe she can make lemonade out of her new life after all.

Melissa D. Savage is a writer and a child and family therapist. Her desire to write purposeful, issue-driven books for young people, coupled with her interest in cryptozoology and the mystery of Bigfoot, inspired her to write Lemons. Melissa lives in Minneapolis. You can follow her on Twitter at @melissadsavage, and visit her at melissadsavage.com.


You've asked and we've hMathildaeard you!  Hicklebee's has launched a book club for readers between the ages of 9 and 12, led by kidlit aficionados Kathy Ellen Davis and Suzi Hough.  If you are a middle grader and MAD ABOUT BOOKS, joins us on the second Monday of each month to discuss our featured book and anything else we've read that we loved.  MAB members will receive a 20% discount on titles chosen for discussion and occasional sneak peeks at upcoming titles.

Apply for membership here.

Lemons Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524700126
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

“An enjoyable and welcome exploration of sorrow, healing, and friendship.” —School Library Journal

“An enjoyable and comforting middle-grade handbook on navigating new experiences and the heartache of losing loved ones early in life.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Savage injects enough humor, mystery, and lively interaction among the characters to give this two-hanky debut a buoyant tone.” —Booklist

Ages 8 & up