TAB: Brittany Cavallaro, Sonya Mukherjee, Gordon Jack with Parker Peevyhouse

Event date: 
Saturday, April 29, 2017 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm

Hicklebee's Teen Advisory Board wrap up Independent Bookstore Day festivities with four incredible young adult authors.

Brittany CavallaroBrittany Cavallaro is a poet, fiction writer, and old-school Sherlockian. She is the author of the poetry collection Girl-King and is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship. She earned her BA in literature from Middlebury College and her MFA in poetry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Currently, she’s a PhD candidate in English literature at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She lives in California with her husband, cat, and collection of deerstalker caps.

Sonya MukherjeeSonya Mukherjee grew up in California sitting in trees, reading books, and writing stories in her head. She studied English and creative writing at Stanford and San Francisco State University, and went on to work as an editor for a variety of book publishers, magazines, and websites, from The Future of Children to Dirt Rider. Now she lives with her family in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she spends her time sitting in coffee shops, reading books, and writing stories on her laptop. Gemini is her first novel.

Gordon Jack

Gordon Jack was born and raised in Palo Alto, California. After graduating college, he worked in advertising, writing commercials for supermarkets and banks. He is best known for the phrase “Imagine the Pastabilities” which ran in many local Sunday newspapers. After exhausting himself creatively, he moved to Spain and taught his special brand of advertising lingo to foreigners (well, technically, Gordon was the foreigner, not the Spaniards). Now Gordon lives in San Francisco and works as a librarian in a public high school, where he plans to force teenagers to read his debut YA novel The Boomerang Effect.

Parker PeevyhouseParker Peevyhouse writes fiction about teens in unusual situations. She lives with her family in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she can usually be found wandering local trails, playing board games, or watching science fiction movies. She also hosts Hicklebee's Great Beginnings, a YA Book Club for Adults.

 


 

The Last of August Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062398949
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 14th, 2017

In the second brilliant, action-packed book in the Charlotte Holmes trilogy, Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are in a chase across Europe to untangle a web of shocking truths about the Holmes and Moriarty families.

Jamie and Charlotte are looking for a winter break reprieve in Sussex after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But nothing about their time off is proving simple, including Holmes and Watson's growing feelings for each other. When Charlotte's beloved Uncle Leander goes missing from the Holmes estate--after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring--the game is afoot once again, and Charlotte throws herself into a search for answers.

So begins a dangerous race through the gritty underground scene in Berlin and glittering art houses in Prague, where Holmes and Watson discover that this complicated case might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.

Ages 13 & up


Gemini Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481456777
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 26th, 2016

In a powerful and daring debut novel, Sonya Mukherjee shares the story of sisters Clara and Hailey, conjoined twins who are learning what it means to be truly extraordinary.
Seventeen-year-old conjoined twins, Clara and Hailey, have lived in the same small town their entire lives--no one stares at them anymore. But there are cracks in their quiet existence and they're slowing becoming more apparent. Clara and Hailey are at a crossroads. Clara wants to stay close to home, avoid all attention, and study the night sky. Hailey wants to travel the world, learn from great artists, and dance with mysterious boys. As high school graduation approaches, each twin must untangle her dreams from her sister's, and figure out what it means to be her own person.
Told in alternating perspectives, this unconventional coming-of-age tale shows how dreams can break your heart--but the love between sisters can mend it.

Ages 14 & up


The Boomerang Effect Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062399397
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen - November 8th, 2016

A hilariously subversive YA debut that explores the meaning of friendship and loyalty, and also why you should avoid being trapped in a small space with an angry chicken. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith's Winger and Frank Portman's King Dork.

It all started with a harmless prank. But now high school junior Lawrence Barry is one step away from reform school unless he participates in a mentorship program. His mentee? Spencer Knudsen, a Norwegian exchange student with Spock-like intelligence but the social skills of the periodic table.

Then disaster strikes. Homecoming Week. When someone dressed as the school Viking mascot starts destroying the fairytale-inspired floats, all suspicion falls on Lawrence. Add to the mix a demon Goth girl, a Renaissance LARPing group, an overzealous yearbook editor, and three vindictive chickens, and Lawrence soon realizes that his situation may be a little out of control. But Spencer seems to have some answers. In fact, Spencer may be the one friend Lawrence never knew he needed.

Ages 14 & up


Where Futures End Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803741607
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kathy Dawson Books - February 9th, 2016

Five teens, five futures. Dylan develops a sixth sense that allows him to glimpse another world. Brixney must escape a debtor colony by finding a way to increase the number of hits on her social media feed so she ll attract corporate sponsorship. Epony goes High Concept and poses as an otherworldly being to recapture her boyfriend's attention. Reef struggles to survive in a city turned virtual gameboard. And Quinn uncovers the alarming secret that links them all.
These are stories about a world that is destroying itself, and about the alternate world that might be its savior. Unless it's just the opposite.

Ages 12 & up