Teens! A Holiday Fairy Party with Margaret Rogerson

Event date: 
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm

Margaret RogersonTEENS!

Hicklebee's Teen Advisory Board (TAB) is throwing a Holiday Fairy Party and you are invited!

Join us as we fold origami ravens.

Origami ravens? Yes! Margaret Rogerson, author of An Enchantment of Ravens will be there to talk about her book and answer questions.

What the critics are saying about the book:

 "Rogerson's first novel is a lush romance with a strong heroine... Rogerson's deft way with words and world building lifts tension and interest to a high point. An excellent choice for fans of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman." - Booklist

"Rich, detailed descriptions of the beautiful but dangerous world of the folk will seduce readers, while the unexpectedly action-filled flight (there's a wild hunt, a ball, magic battles, and extreme painting) keeps the pages turning. Rogerson draws on fairy lore while changing myriad details to suit her story, and in Isobel she provides a strong, confident heroine who may lose her heart but never her head. No glamour is needed to make readers fall for this one." - Kirkus

Costumes encouraged! The costume deemed "Most Enchanting" will win a prize.

 

An Enchantment of Ravens Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481497589
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 26th, 2017

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts--even as she falls in love with a faerie prince--in this gorgeous debut novel.

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron--Rook, the autumn prince--she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes--a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love--and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

Ages 14 & up