Lou Lou and Pea and the Bicentennial Bonanza (Hardcover)

Lou Lou and Pea and the Bicentennial Bonanza Cover Image
By Jill Diamond, Lesley Vamos (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Mar 25 3:16am
(MIDDLE GRADE PAPERBACK)

Description


The second book in this young, illustrated middle-grade series is perfect for fans outgrowing Ivy & Bean!

BFFs Lou Lou Bombay and Peacock Pearl are busy preparing for the Bicentennial Bonanza, their city’s two-hundredth birthday bash! And this year, the party will take place in their beloved neighborhood of El Corazón. With a baking contest, talent show, and a new gazebo planned, the community can’t wait to celebrate the founders (and historical BFFs), Diego Soto and Giles Wonderwood. But when Vice-Mayor Andy Argyle claims the festivities belong to Verde Valley, using a mysterious diary as evidence, Lou Lou and Pea smell trouble. Will the friends be able to uncover the secrets of their city’s founding, and bring the Bonanza back to El Corazón?

Fun back matter includes a DIY garden party hat and a Spanish language glossary!

About the Author


Jill Diamond has loved children's literature for as long as she can remember, thanks to her school librarian mother and long, cold winters in Maine. She presently lives in San Francisco, where, when she's not writing, she practices law and hangs out with her husband and cat.

Jill is the author of the Lou Lou and Pea young readers series, including Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery.



Lesley Vamos studied at the College of Fine Arts, University of New South Wales, where she earned a BA with distinction in digital media. She loves telling stories, cooking, travelling, and eating eggplant. She resides in Sydney, Australia. Lesley is the illustrator of Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery.

Praise For…


"Fans of Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery (2016) will welcome this second adventure, but readers new to the series will not be at a disadvantage." —Booklist

"With its soft illustrations, diverse cast of characters, and engaging and accessible style, this is an ideal recommendation for readers wishing to take the leap from simplistic chapter books to richer novels."—School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780374302986
ISBN-10: 0374302987
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: April 24th, 2018
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: Lou Lou and Pea