Creative Writing Workshop with Randy Ribay

Event date: 
Saturday, August 25, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm

Tickets to this event have sold out. Thank you for your interest!

 

Teens and adults: Are you interested in writing for teen readers? Come to our creative writing workshop with local YA author Randy Ribay!

Randy teaches creative writing at a local high school and is the author of books and short stories for teens. His most recent release, AFTER THE SHOT DROPS, follows two teens whose friendship is put the test when one of them gets a scholarship to play basketball at another school. It received starred reviews from Publisher's Weekly, Kirkus, and School Library Journal.

Tickets to the workshop are $20 and include a copy of AFTER THE SHOT DROPS (plus a free tote to the first 10 people who purchase a ticket). Space is limited and our last workshop sold out, so buy your ticket now!

 

 

After the Shot Drops Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328702272
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen's mission to create a better life for his family. Written in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Pe a, and Walter Dean Myers, After the Shot Drops now has 3 starred reviews 

* "Belongs on the shelf alongside contemporary heavy-hitters like Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give, Brendan Kiely and Jason Reynolds's All-American Boys, and Nic Stone's Dear Martin."--School Library Journal, starred review

Ages 13+