Great Beginnings YA Bookclub for Adults

Event date: 
Thursday, August 8, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

We'll be discussing Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan.

Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cōcha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen?

In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.


Great Beginnings YA Bookclub for adult readers is led by YA author Parker Peevyhouse. We will meet the second Thursday of every month at 7:00 pm at Hicklebee's Bookstore to discuss our featured book. Great Beginners will receive a 20% discount on titles chosen for discussion.

Sign up here.

 

Parker Peevyhouse is likely trying to solve a puzzle at this very moment, probably while enjoying In-N-Out fries, admiring redwood trees, and quoting movies about sentient robots. Parker's most recent novel, The Echo Room (Tor Teen 2018), is a science fiction thriller for young adults which Kirkus called "a thrilling ride" in a starred review. Stump her with your most challenging Harry Potter trivia, and ask her to recommend unusual books for all ages.

 

 

Ignite the Stars Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780807536254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - September 4th, 2018

"Milan makes a solid debut with this novel of space pirates, governmental empires, simmering teen rebellion, and questions about whether a person is truly all good or bad." —Booklist
 

"Milan is excellent at establishing relatable, complex characters. The action-packed sequences, with spaceship battles and academic competition, are so engaging, teens won’t be able to put the book down. A strong first book in a sure-to-be successful science fiction series." —School Library Journal

Ages 12+