Katherine Applegate

Event date: 
Thursday, March 28, 2019 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm

You won't want to miss this!

Author of the John Newbery Medal winning The One and Only Ivan is coming to Hicklebees!

Come join us as we celebrate her animal fantasy series with the release of Endling #2 The first and Endling #1 The Last in paperback. Applegate will be discussing her series then follow up with a signing of her books. Browse the rest of her books here.

Come and say hello to this New York Times Best Selling author!


Katherine Applegate is the author of many books for young readers, including The One and Only IvanCrenshaw, Home of the Brave, Wishtree, the Roscoe Riley Rules series, Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla, The Buffalo Storm, and with her husband, Michael Grant, the Animorphs series, which has sold over 35 million copies worldwide. She lives in Northern California with her husband, two children, and three pets.




Endling #1: The Last Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062335548
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: HarperCollins - March 5th, 2019

In this first book of an epic middle grade series, Katherine Applegate takes us on an unforgettable journey.

New York Times bestseller from the beloved author of the action-packed Animorphs series and the award-winning The One and Only Ivan.

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies—both animals and humans alike—who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family—one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.


The Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Ages 8+

Endling #2: The First Cover Image
By Katherine Applegate, Max Kostenko (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780062335562
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 7th, 2019

Endling #2: The First is the second book in an epic middle grade animal fantasy series by Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling author of The One and Only IvanWishtree, and Crenshaw!

To learn if she truly is the last dairne in the world—the endling—Byx and her friends must travel into the snow-covered mountains of the country of Dreyland, where they hope to uncover the truth behind the legend of a hidden dairne colony. But the threat of war across the lands continues to grow with each passing day.

As the group confronts untold dangers at every turn, they will ultimately uncover a treacherous plot that involves the other powerful governing species. With both her dreams and all the creatures of Nedarra on the brink of extinction, Byx and her friends are determined to never give up hope.

Soon they find themselves the unlikely leaders in a simmering rebellion that risks everything they hold dear. Byx may be the last of her kind, but will she also be the first to lead the revolution?

Ages 8+

The One and Only Ivan Full-Color Collector's Edition Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062425249
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 27th, 2015

★ “Will capture readers’ hearts and never let go. A must have.”

- School Library Journal (starred review)

★ “Animal-loving youngsters and their adults will find plenty of food for thought in Ivan’s extraordinary story.”

- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

★ “Exemplifies everything youngsters need to know about courage.”

- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Ages 8+