Lisa Moore Ramée

Event date: 
Friday, May 10, 2019 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm

Check this out! From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, A Good Kind of Trouble. (Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds!).

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, for real.

Lisa Moore Ramée was born and raised in Los Angeles and she now lives in the Northern California, with her husband, two kids, and two obnoxious cats. A Good Kind of Trouble is her first novel.

 

 

A Good Kind of Trouble Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062836687
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 12th, 2019

“Reminiscent in writing style to works by Lauren Myracle and Jason Reynolds, this novel [shows] Shayla’s typical middle school problems, then switches to the very specific problems she faces as a young black girl in America…[For] middle grade readers who aren’t yet ready for Thomas’s The Hate U Give.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Shayla’s narration is both sympathetic and acutely realistic... this is a sensitive exploration of contemporary racism and inequity for a readership not ready for Thomas’ The Hate U Give.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Ages 8+