Michael Dante DiMartino & Armand Baltazar

Event date: 
Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm

Michael Dante DiMartinoHicklebee's is thrilled to present Michael Dante DiMartino in conversation with Armand Baltazar.  These storytellers share a background in animation and a talent for building fantastic worlds filled with unforgettable characters.  This will be an evening to remember for lovers of epic adventures.

Michael Dante DiMartino's directing credits include the primetime animated series King of the Hill, Family Guy, and Mission Hill. DiMartino  is a co-creator of the award winning animated Nickelodeon series Avatar: The Last Airbender and its sequel, The Legend of Korra. He continues to consult on the ongoing Dark Horse graphic novels that continue the story of Avatar, and is writing the upcoming Legend of Korra graphic novel.

Rebel Genius is Michael’s first novel and is the first book in a new middle-grade fantasy series. Warrior Genius is his newest book in the series.

“Easy reading with a detailed magical system involving the arts and sacred geometry—an excellent spark to learning more about both in the real world.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Readers who enjoy detailed battles will demand this book.” —Booklist

 

Armand BaltazarArmand Baltazar was born on Chicago’s North Side, not far from the famed Wrigley Field. After attending the Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, Armand began a visual storytelling career in feature animation as a background artist, visual development artist, and art director for DreamWorks Studios, Walt Disney, and Pixar Animation. He currently resides in Northern California with his family, creating the art and stories for the epic adventure series Timeless.

“This epic tale from Baltazar, is not only wildly imaginative and attention-grabbing, it’s downright beautiful: more than 150 full-color photorealistic art pieces bring the characters and setting to life. A series opener that conveys a true sense of wonder and excitement on every page.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Intricate illustrations, stunning in their lush coloring and quality, are liberally interspersed. [C]inematic dialogue, glossy plot twists, and movie-ready illustrations will likely make readers feel they’ve had a theatrical experience.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Armand Baltazar’s adventure is fused with lush, rich illustrations, full of inventive and exciting ideas that make me want to lean into them and see what happens next!” — Pete Docter, Academy Award-winning director of Inside Out, Up, and Monsters, Inc.

Warrior Genius (Rebel Geniuses #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626723375
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 2nd, 2018

For years, Supreme Creator Nerezza has used fear and violence to rule her empire, seeking to eradicate anyone with a Genius. Then, twelve-year-old Giacomo emerged from hiding and joined a young generation of fellow artists paired with Geniuses. Together, they began a rebellion against her.

Now, Giacomo has something Nerezza desperately wants―the Compass, one of three powerful objects known as the Sacred Tools. Possessing all three would allow Nerezza to spread her tyranny worldwide.

After a near-fatal showdown, Giacomo and his friends escape to the empire of Rachana, a society long feared for its mighty warriors and their horse-Geniuses. But a dark and ancient force threatens the horse-Geniuses with extinction, and Giacomo discovers he is the only one who can stop it.

With the help of his Genius and great friends, Giacomo struggles to keep the Sacred Tools from falling into the wrong hands and find a way to protect the Rachanan people―before Nerezza finds him.


Ages 8 +


Rebel Genius Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626723368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - October 4th, 2016


In twelve-year-old Giacomo's Renaissance-inspired world, art is powerful, dangerous, and outlawed. A few artists possess Geniuses, birdlike creatures that are the living embodiment of an artist's creative spirit. Those caught with one face a punishment akin to death, so when Giacomo discovers he has a Genius, he knows he's in serious trouble.

Luckily, he finds safety in a secret studio where young artists and their Geniuses train in sacred geometry to channel their creative energies as weapons. But when a murderous artist goes after the three Sacred Tools--objects that would allow him to destroy the world and everyone in his path―Giacomo and his friends must risk their lives to stop him.

“DiMartino masterfully weaves a thrilling action-adventure epic into an imaginative and terrifying world.” ―Bryan Konietzko, co-creator of Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra

Rebel Genius is a natural extension of Michael Dante DiMartino's work on Avatar: The Last Airbender: charming young heroes, magical creatures, an innovative magic system, and mysteries galore. There is so much to love about this book!” ―Gene Yang, National Ambassador for Young People's Literature and author of American Born Chinese.

Ages 8+


Rebel Genius (Rebel Geniuses #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250129741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - January 2nd, 2018

Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic Cover Image
By Armand Baltazar, Armand Baltazar (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062402363
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 10th, 2017

For fans of Rick Riordan and Brian Selznick, author-artist Armand Baltazar introduces Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic, the first in a new science fiction/fantasy series that explores a world painted new by the Time Collision. Integrating art and text, this epic and cinematic adventure features more than 150 full-color illustrations.

You've never seen Earth like this before: continents reshaped, oceans re-formed, cities rebuilt, and mountains sculpted anew. Dinosaurs roam the plains alongside herds of buffalo, and giant robots navigate the same waters as steam-powered ships.

This is the world Diego Ribera was born into. The past, present, and future coexisting together. In New Chicago, Diego's middle school hallways buzz with kids from all eras of history and from cultures all over the world. The pieces do not always fit together neatly, but this is the world he loves.

There are those, however, who do not share his affection. On his thirteenth birthday, Diego learns of a special gift he has within, a secret that is part of something much bigger--something he cannot understand. When his father, New Chicago's top engineer, is taken by the Aeternum, Diego must rescue him and prevent this evil group from disrupting the fragile peace humanity has forged.

Ages 8 & up