Novel Society: Adults Read Teen Lit

Event date: 
Thursday, February 28, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

We'll be discussing The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan.

A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.

Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.

Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.

Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.


Society members will receive a 20% discount on titles chosen for discussion and ocassional access to pre-publication previews of new books from well-known as well as up-and-coming authors. Other surprises may also be in store – remember, this is Hicklebee’s…

Call the store (408) 292-8880 or email Renee if you are interested in joining.

Novel Society facilitator, Renee Ting was the President and Publisher of Shen’s Books, a small press specializing in multicultural children’s literature. As a publisher, she has been reading, evaluating, producing, and marketing children’s content for over ten years. Prior to heading Shen’s Books, Renee worked at several children’s book and music stores, including Linden Tree and Storyopolis. She is a graduate of Harvard University with a BA in music, and is the author of The Prince’s Diary

 

 

 

 

 

The Astonishing Color of After Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316463997
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 20th, 2018