Hicklebee's Recommends... Adult Titles

 

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020

In upstate New York, a woman reassesses her life--coming out as lesbian at the same time she starts fostering her granddaughter. A sunny book from a witty author.


Staff Pick Badge
The Cold Millions: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062868084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - October 27th, 2020

Unforgettable characters--both real and imagined--in a  propulsive story about labor protests in 1909 Spokane. For fans of John Steinbeck and E.L. Doctorow.


Staff Pick Badge
A Door Between Us Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781982618186
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Blackstone Publishing - September 1st, 2020

Can’t-look-away fiction about the family divisions caused by the stolen election in 2009-10 Iran. A wonderful debut novel from a local author/social-justice activist.


Staff Pick Badge
Hench: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062978578
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: William Morrow - September 22nd, 2020

Protagonist Anna is a temp in a kind of anti-Marvel universe where the Superheros and the Villains cannot be told apart without a spreadsheet. Subversive fun.


Staff Pick Badge
Hamnet Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657606
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: Knopf - July 21st, 2020

A likable couple marries in 1852. They live happily, together and apart, until they suffer a tragic loss. This award-winner is an exquisitely written novel of the plague that transformed Shakespeare.


Staff Pick Badge
Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525541905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - December 31st, 2019

An adventures-in-babysitting novel about a young black woman and her eager-to-be-thought-woke employer. You’ll laugh; you’ll cringe.


Staff Pick Badge
World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, and Other Astonishments Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781571313652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 8th, 2020

An essay collection about biological wonders that often connects to the author’s experiences as a brown child in white spaces. (The author is the American daughter of a Filipina mom and an Indian dad.)  


Staff Pick Badge
Why Fish Don't Exist: A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501160271
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 14th, 2020

As perhaps befits a book partially about taxonomy, this one is unclassifiable. A biography of David Starr Jordan (Stanford’s first president), a memoir, a sociology of the early 20th-century’s worst idea, and more.


Deacon King Kong: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735216723
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: Riverhead Books - March 3rd, 2020

A glorious, jazzy novel, set in 1969 in a Brooklyn housing project, in which men’s behavior, good and bad and indifferent, is always generously understood.


Station Eleven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

I'm excited that we just got more copies of Station Eleven, because it's one of my absolute favorites -- the most hopeful post-apocalyptic novel you'll ever read! It's a beautiful exploration of what art and stories can mean to human beings in the wake of a worldwide pandemic. Perhaps relevant? - Kristin


The Overstory: A Novel Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393356687
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 2nd, 2019

An eco-epic to get lost in. Winner of the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for fiction.


The Story of More: How We Got to Climate Change and Where to Go from Here Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780525563389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 3rd, 2020

An environmental history class between covers, taught by the best science professor you could wish for.


Gmorning, Gnight!: Little Pep Talks for Me & You Cover Image
By Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jonny Sun (Illustrator)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781984854278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - October 16th, 2018

Read this book through, mark your favorite pages, and keep it by your bed for a pick me up whenever you need it. You'll thank me later.

- Lucy


The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Thi Bui
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419718786
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams ComicArts - April 17th, 2018

This illustrated memoir is a powerful look at how the choices of our parents, for better or worse, shape who we are and how we raise our own children. - Lucy


Dinner with Edward: A Story of an Unexpected Friendship Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616206949
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: Algonquin Books - June 13th, 2017

A wonderful story about food, love and friendship. Beautiful! - Cathy


Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735220690
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 5th, 2018

A wonderful sometimes funny, sometimes sad but always entertaining read! Couldn’t put it down. - Cathy


Finding Dorothy: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525622116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - December 3rd, 2019

A novel about Maud Gage Baum - widow to Frank and The Wizard of Oz, daughter to a great feminist, friend on the set of 1939s colorful movie. So much historical goodness. - Carol


Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538745823
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 6th, 2019

An engaging tale of overcoming adversity, courage against the odds, protecting the weak amid the power of friendship, and found family. - Claire


Uncommon Type Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101911945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - September 4th, 2018

Yes, the Tom Hanks and he can write! A wonderful collection of stories that all have a hidden typewriter! - Cathy


Maybe You Should Talk to Someone: A Therapist, HER Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781328662057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - April 2nd, 2019

I loved this book. Great for someone new to seeing a therapist… or not. Makes you look at yourself in a different light. Appreciated by therapist friends too! Recently on NPR - Monica


Three Women Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781451642308
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - July 7th, 2020

Wow! Interesting and a great read! Wonderful for book clubs, lots of discussion! Follow 3 women through their real lives of sex and betrayal! - Cathy


We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780142180822
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 2-14 days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 25th, 2014

DON’T READ ANYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK. Just dive into it without spoilers. A family story like nothing else and the writing is a masterpiece of narrative control and imagination. - Carol


Convenience Store Woman Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780802129628
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - September 17th, 2019

For fans of off beat, slice of life stories will be delighted! We all struggle to find our place in society, but Kieko’s trials will make you laugh and sigh at the same time. - Suzi


The Paying Guests Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781594633928
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 8th, 2015

Racy, provocative, thought provoking- will keep you reading on the edge of your seat way past your bedtime! - Cathy


Death at Breakfast: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062431974
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 21st, 2017

Two smart retirees become inadvertent detectives. Lots of comic observations for fun mystery lovers. - Carol