Hicklebee's Recommends... Early Reader/Middle Grade Titles

We're sorry we can't meet with you in person, but we've currated a list of some favorite books below. Find our young children's list here, teen here and adult here. You can still call the store and speak to a staff member for a more personalized recommendation at 408-292-8880 or you can email Carol Doup Muller at carol@hicklebees.com. Happy reading!

 

Here in the Real World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062698957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 4th, 2020

This one deserves to become a new classic! A sweet and funny novel about finding the wonder in everyday life. - Kristin (Staff favorite!)

(Middle Grade, Ages 8+)


The Nameless City Cover Image
By Faith Erin Hicks, Jordie Bellaire (Contributions by)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626721562
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - April 5th, 2016

The first in an excellent series about a girl and boy who's friendship is destined to change their city forever. Perfect for fans of Mighty Jack and Cleopatra in Space.

- Lucy

(Graphic novel, ages 9+)


The Dragon Warrior Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547602001
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 15th, 2019

LOVE IT! As a half-Chinese kid, I would have been so thrilled to have hero siblings like Faryn and Alex to celebrate our mixed heritage. As an adult, I'm utterly charmed. This is a must read for fans of mythology-based adventure stories, the kids who devour the books of Rick Riordan and his imprint's authors.

- Suzi

(Middle Grade, Ages 8+)


This Was Our Pact Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626720534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - June 11th, 2019

A beautiful book reminiscent of Studio Ghibli like magic and wonder.

- Lucy

(Graphic Novel, Ages 10+)


Wildheart: The Daring Adventures of John Muir Cover Image
By Julie Bertagna, William Goldsmith (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781930238947
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Yosemite Conservancy - March 19th, 2019

Read and look at the life of famous naturalist John Muir and how he developed his love for nature. Very sweet and jovial illustrations made this book fun to look at over and over again.

- Lucy

(Graphic novel, Ages 8+)


Bronze and Sunflower Cover Image
By Cao Wenxuan, Meilo So (Illustrator), Helen Wang (Translated by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763688165
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Candlewick - March 14th, 2017

Perfect for the introverted reader, this book translated from Chinese author Cao Wenxuan is a beautifully written story about a young girl who befriends a boy turned mute after a terrible fire. The writing flows at a steady pace with an emotional ending that will leave you cheering. - Lucy

(Middle grade, ages 9+)


The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781616207465
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - April 30th, 2019

A powerful story about courage in the face of despair and how loving families come in all shapes and sizes. Witches, magical creatures and enchanted children abound in this unusual fairytale! - Erica

(Middle grade, ages 10+)


Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747273
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 3rd, 2019

A SPECTACULAR adventure story full of action, magic and myth! You’ve never read a novel quite like this one - Kristin

(Middle grade, ages 8+)


Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales: One Dead Spy Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781419703966
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - August 1st, 2012

Thrilling, daring, and downright gruesome stories from American history, in Graphic novel form. Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales is an Eisner-nominated, #1 New York Times bestselling series. - Staff favorite!

(Graphic novel, ages 9+)