Hicklebee's Recommends... Teen + Teen/Adult Titles

 

 

 

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes Novel #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062398918
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 3rd, 2017

A Sherlock Holmes series taking a modern twist on the classic duo. This book is raw and gritty. Watson and Holmes spring from the page and right into your heart. You won’t be able to stop reading! - Bianca

Teen, ages 13+


Stepsister Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338268461
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - May 14th, 2019

A feminist retelling of the Cinderella story from the POV of the ugly stepsister. This book marvelously flips the average fairytale into one of inner beauty and empowerment. - Bianca

Teen, ages 12+


The Fountains of Silence Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399160318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - October 1st, 2019

A wonderful teen/adult read that sucks you in from the first page. Spain in 1957, a first love story, matadors and stolen children! - Cathy

Teen, ages 12+


The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, Book 1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545424936
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 30th, 2013

Atmospheric. An unbeatable contemporary fantasy that artfully weaves myth, magic, and reality. You will not be able to put it down. You will want to read it agin and again to catch the foreshadowing and revise this cast of fantastic characters! - Bianca 

Teen Adult, ages 14+


Daughter of Smoke & Bone Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780316133999
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2012

A must-read for fans of Holly Black and Maggie Stiefvater! Gorgeous writing with Characters who leap off the page - Kristin

Teen adult, ages 14+


I'm Not Dying with You Tonight Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492678892
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks - August 1st, 2019

What would you do if you got caught in the middle of a race riot? Lena and Campbell find out the hard way as they try to survive the night. - Erica

Adult teen, ages 14+


Damsel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062742322
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 2nd, 2018

In this book the princess saves herself! Looking for a radically feminist fairytale? This enchanting, fast paced book takes the classic knight-maiden-dragon story and transforms it into a spellbinding tale of empowerment. - Bianca

Adult teen, ages 14+


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781442408937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2014

A heart warming, emotional look into the mind of a boy discovering his capaticy to love and being loved in return. BONUS this title is read by Lin Manuel Miranda on Libro.fm!

- Lucy

(Teen, Ages 12+)


What Makes Us Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763697501
Availability: Not on our shelves now, usually available for pick-up or shipping in 1-10 days
Published: Candlewick - October 15th, 2019

This book is incredibly timely, capturing the frustration that many young teens feel today. The fact that kids across the world are protesting climate change today is proof that there is a thirst for activism, and a book like What Makes Us will help them process those feelings and ultimately help them to channel them more effectively. Eran learns that while anger is an important tool that can be used for good, it is not the only tool available and not the first one he should reach for.

- Suzi

(Young Adult, Ages 14+)